Masafumi Uehara Saxophone Recital 2022


When you hear the word "soprano saxophone," what or who do you think of?
I'm sure you have a strong image of jazz players such as Kenny G, John Coltrane, Wayne Shorter, Branford Marsalis and so on. If you listen to brass bands or classical music, you may have an image of saxophone quartets or Ravel's Bolero.
This concert will focus on soprano saxophone solo works. From serious to pop, the program offers a taste of the diverse aspects of the soprano saxophone in classical music. And I commission composer Tetsutaro MASUI to write a new work for this concert. He writes very attractive pieces, so I hope you will come and listen to.
 I hope that this concert will be the start of a series of commissions to composers that will hopefully contribute in some small way to the growth of the saxophone repertoire in the 21st century.

Masafumi Uehara (saxophone)
Kazumi Akimoto (piano)

・Jean-Luc Fafchamps: Décalcomanie de Reich et Ligeti
・Thierry Escaich: Le chant des ténèbres
・Rodney Rogers: Lessons of the sky
・Takashi Yoshimatsu: Pleiades dances IIa (excerpt)
・Tetsutaro Masui: New work for this Recital

Date / Term

February 27, 2022 (Sun.)
open 13:00 start 14:00


Aoyama Music Memorial Hall Barocksaal

9−1 Matsuodairi-cho, Nishikyo-ku, Kyoto

5 minutes on foot from Hankyu Arashiyama Line Kami-katsura(HK96) station

Admission Advance: 2000yen / Doors: 2500yen
・Aoyama Music Memorial Hall Barocksaal 075-393-0011
9:30-18:30 (Monday and Tuesday closed)

・Ticket Pia 0570-02-9999 (P-code 204-864)
Organizer Masafumi UEHARA
Contact TEL. 080-5143-3786

*For more information, please contact the each organizer.

Page Top